My preview from RushTheCourt.net

I wrote the Horizon League Preview over at RushTheCourt.net.  Obviously there will be some backlash from the conference members because one of Milwaukee’s own picked them for the conference championship, but I’m backing it up with two truths:

Not since my freshman year at the UWM Post (2005-06) did I pick Milwaukee to win the Horizon League.  From the 06-07 season to 09-10, my pick at the Post was someone else.  Last year, on this website, I picked Butler.

– You vote for what you know and see.  I’m perfectly aware that on paper, Butler has the best recruiting class and Anton Grady of CSU may be the best single recruit in the conference.  I also know that Butler returns only four players of any real consequence last season (Stigall, Marshall, Nored, Smith) and Cleveland State is woefully weak in depth beyond Grady, Hughes, Kamczyc, Pogue, Brown, and Montgomery – Charles Lee is at least a year away from being a real player and as I’ve said, I haven’t seen the other newcomers.  Detroit may not lose anybody (Eli Holman’s status still unclear), but they add nothing and it wasn’t like they were particularly good last year.  Add in the fact that they have all this turmoil around their program before day 1 and it may be the end of the season before they really get going, if they ever get going.

I will not apologize for picking Milwaukee first, and I won’t apologize for hoping I’m right.  I am a Milwaukee fan, after all, but I’m not going to fight this.

Feel free to comment as to why I’m an idiot.

3 Responses

  1. Dont forget about D’Aundrey Brown coming back for CSU!

  2. Nevermind! Accidentally skipped over his name

  3. No worries Jordan! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

